• Music

    Sergey Kuryokhin (谢尔盖·古廖金) – Divine Madness (天赋的疯狂)

    First, a disclaimer: I am posting this review with the understanding that Leo Records has licensed this astounding collection covering the career of the late enfant terrible of Russia’s then-thriving avant-garde music community, Sergey Kuryokhin, to Old Heaven Books Records in Shenzhen, China.  If this is so, it’s wonderful to know that Sergey’s reach will continue to grow almost three decades after his passing.  Collaborators on this box set include Igor Butman, Sergei Belichenko, Valentina Ponomareva and Boris Grebenshchikov among others.  I’m excited to see Old Heaven Books continue to branch out.

  • Music

    Citizen – Ars Humana Aedificavit Urbes

    Today is a gloomy day in Budapest, as we’re in the middle of a heavy rainstorm, so it seemed like a perfect day to indulge in some pure noise.  I am new to the work of Citizen, who are, a believe, a Polish band headed by Jakub S, but I like the fact that, unlike most noise, this sounds like he took the time to sculpt well over 40 minutes of inferno-blasting ‘music’ that keeps you engaged.  Not bad at all.

  • Music

    Aaron Martin – The End of Medicine (Original Score)

    Lost Tribe Sound continues to surprise and amaze me with the quality of not only the experimental music on the label, but the soundtracks as well.  Cellist Aaron Martin has released his score for the documentary The End Of Medicine, and it’s a deeply resonant collection of music.  From Aaron’s Bandcamp site: This original score is Aaron’s first solo release presented by Lost Tribe Sound, even though the two have a long history of collaboration. The US label has previously released three albums from Aaron’s project with Dag Rosenqvist under the alias, From the Mouth of the Sun. Those titles…

  • Music

    Viul & Benoît Pioulard – Konec

    A Strangely Isolated Place provides us with a fine pairing. From the label’s Bandcamp site: “With an immediate arresting aesthetic, grounded in saturation, decay and distortion, tracks such as ‘Returning Clear Voice’ or ‘Flaxen’ reflect some of the duo’s more textured work – a hazy mist of life unknown in a city’s uncharted times. Konec’s storyful and engrossing moments come with a confident posture, such as the unforgettable bellowing of ‘Catalune’ or ‘Construction Worker Smoke Cycle’ or the swirling, haunting ‘Canon’. “

  • Music - Youtube

    [Video] New Order – Substance

    As today is my 52nd birthday, I thought I would take a walk down memory lane.  Today is also the 35th anniversary of New Order’s first major collection album called Substance, which was released on this day in 1987.  As it turns out, it was the first compact disc I ever bought, and though I don’t own it anymore, I have my digital copy to remind me of how excited I was (and still am) hearing this album.

  • Music - Spotify

    [Podcast] JazzBuzz 16: Jazz In Europe

    Our friends at Parasounder Magazine out of Tehran offer a great introduction to jazz in Europe and Iran through their podcast, JazzBuzz.  In this episode, you will hear some fine music, an interview with guitarist Ali Lotfi and more jazz notes, all in Farsi.  I’m proud to support my friends and their music explorations.

  • Music

    Malaaz – Lélé / Malaazé

    This 7-inch two-track single is pure funky joy to listen to!  Malaaz were a band out of Reunion Island, of all places, and is considered to be a solid funk gem.  The backstory of the band is here, at their label, Babani Records’ Bandcamp site: “Malaaz was initiated by Patrick Donat, who is described as a pioneer and major contributor of the Electric Maloya scene, this fusion of island traditional music and western instrumentation in the mid 70s. 
He was joined by Franck Raholison and Del Rabenja, creating this powerful band of exceptional musicians from Réunion Island and Madagascar. Lélé…

  • Music

    John Wall – [Computer​]​-​[​Piano] Part II

    John Wall is Australia’s foremost experimental music composer.  I had lost track of him many years ago, but it’s good to see that he is still composing bold music.  From his Bandcamp site: “As with the previous Computer-Piano release these three compositions consist of piano recordings (that are not subject to any computer manipulations) and computer manufactured sounds that were built around the (analogue) piano of [Computer]-[Piano] part II and [Computer]-[Piano] part II Variation 1. The objective (as before with Computer-Piano ) was to create a work that combined the analogue and digital into an aesthetically convincing structured work. The…

  • Music

    Various Artists – Nyarlathotep – A Tribute To Howard Phillips Lovecraft

    Eighth Tower Records never disappoints!  Each compilation they put out is so well put-together that the themes fit the subject material perfectly!  This one is, of course, no exception.  It is a paean to H. P. Lovecraft, perhaps America’s foremost horror and science-fiction writers.  At least to my taste, Lovecraft is second only to Edgar Allan Poe. The comp features artists like Kirlian Camera, Gerstein and T.A.C., so rest assured that the quality is exceptional.